I don’t need a copywriter to write the copy

It

It was a while ago now that I realised just how much of an up hill battle there still is, to validate the purpose of the humble copywriter..

There I was, laying on the chiropractors table being cracked (to relieve the headache.. brought on by that massive knot.. brought on by the hours of writing). As he took my head in an arm lock (the one where they tell you to relax, so that they can wring you like a chicken), he asked me in casual chit chat what I had been doing to “keep myself busy”.

Although tempted to say I had been dabbling with a little bit of needlepoint, I told him that I had been writing a book on Sea Freight and Logistics. I am not sure what surprised him more, the fact that I worked at all or the fact that I could possibly write such a technical ‘mans’ topic.. and one which I obviously wasn’t an expert in.

I explained that research is in fact 50% of the work involved when writing, and it was my writing skills I was hired for, not my in depth knowledge of container ships.

As that piece of information flew right over his head and out of the door, he proceeded to tell me how another patient had offered to write the copy for his new practise brochure. He had however decided that as she wasn’t in the chiropractic industry, she couldn’t possibly manage to grasp such a complex subject.. so he had decided to do a better job himself.

Of course one never argues with a man who can snap your neck and then blame it on an accident in the work place, but it did make me wonder if everyone holds writers and the value of the service they offer in such high esteem!

m!

m!

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

m!

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

